1996 Music

In 1996 I came to the United States, to be specific, to Long Beach California I was 8 years old.

I listened to “English” music growing up, legends like Elvis Presley, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Fleetwood Mac, The Carpenters, and many other inspiring musicians. My dad had a huge record collection, which was my biggest influence growing up. That’s how I got interested in music. ( I recently have discovered that my grandfather was a musician, so we have a history there 🙂

Back then, I didn’t really knew what was “cool”or what songs where popular, not to mention the emerging artist and cultures at that time. Not understanding the language, all I could pick up were the beats and sounds that freshened and uplifted me.Thus giving me a sense of belonging through the connection of music.

Below are a few of my favorite tunes of 1996:

  1. Los Del Rio (who can forget this moving song!)
  2. Celine Dion (you can deny that she has a one of a kind voice)
  3. Bone-Thugs N Harmony (lived in a “rough” side of town Upper West side of Long Beach area, heard this song all the time)
  4. Dona Lewis
  5. Toni Braxton (what a voice, what a woman)
  6. Keith Sweat
  7. Aaliyah
  8. LL Cool J
Comments appreciated ! Thank You!

